License, Insurance, and Registration Please

Getting & Staying Insured: Lesson 4

Car Insurance: The Minimum … Maybe More

  • Under Tennessee law, and the laws of most states, if you buy a car, you must have your own liability insurance (if your parents are not co-owners of the car), and you need to carry proof of insurance with you when you drive.
  • Tennessee requires these minimum amounts of liability car insurance:
    • $25,000 for each injury or death per accident.
    • $50,000 for total injuries or deaths per accident.
    • $15,000 for property damage (like the other driver’s car, someone’s fence, a light pole)
  • Remember: the damage you cause might cost more, and you will most likely have to pay the rest!  Costs in an accident add up REALLY fast.
    • If you cause a serious accident, you might need to hire an attorney to help.

 

GET UNLIMITED ACCESS!
Login Register
Cancel

YOUR MEMBERSHIP GETS YOU...

When you become a member of our site, you will have full access to all of our courses and quizzes. Plus, you'll have access to any new courses and quizzes that we add during your membership. You will also be enrolled in our members-only newsletter where we share additional information exclusively for you. Sign up now and start educating your teens and young adults on how to stay out of legal trouble and have a brighter future.