Personal Relationships & the Law

It’s Not Working: Tennessee Divorces 101

  • A married person in Tennessee can file for a “fault” or “no-fault” divorce.
    • No-fault means it wasn’t either person’s fault the marriage didn’t work, but there were things like irreconcilable differences, or you’ve lived separately for at least two years – if there are no kids.
    • Fault means it was one partner’s fault the marriage fell apart, and there were things like bigamy, adultery, willful desertion of at least one year, a felony conviction, cruelty, or abandonment.
  • A married person must live in Tennessee for at least six months before they can file for divorce in Tennessee.
  • There is a waiting period of 60 days after filing for divorce for married people without children, and 90 days for married people with children.
  • That means the divorce can’t be final before the waiting period has passed.

 

GET UNLIMITED ACCESS!
Create an Account


Already have a user account?

YOUR MEMBERSHIP GETS YOU...

When you become a member of our site, you will have full access to all of our courses and quizzes. Plus, you'll have access to any new courses and quizzes that we add during your membership. You will also be enrolled in our members-only newsletter where we share additional information exclusively for you. Sign up now and start educating your teens and young adults on how to stay out of legal trouble and have a brighter future.