Personal Relationships & the Law

PREGNANCY AND HAVING CHILDREN: Lesson 7

The Tennessee Safe Haven Law

  • The Tennessee Safe Haven law lets parents of a newborn surrender their unharmed baby to certain places within 72 hours after the birth without being charged with a crime.
  • A baby up to 3 days old can be left with an employee at any hospital, birthing center, community health clinic, outpatient walk-in clinic, or 24 hour fire or police station clinic in Tennessee.
  • As long as the baby is unharmed and the child is taken to a facility within 72 hours after the birth, the mother — or parents — will not be charged with crime. The surrender of the baby is kept confidential.
  • The law aims to reduce the number babies abandoned to die.
  • As of April 2015, 80 children have been safely surrendered in Tennessee since the law took effect in 2001

 

GET UNLIMITED ACCESS!
Create an Account


Already have a user account?

YOUR MEMBERSHIP GETS YOU...

When you become a member of our site, you will have full access to all of our courses and quizzes. Plus, you'll have access to any new courses and quizzes that we add during your membership. You will also be enrolled in our members-only newsletter where we share additional information exclusively for you. Sign up now and start educating your teens and young adults on how to stay out of legal trouble and have a brighter future.