Personal Relationships & the Law

Quiz: Quiz

If you are getting married, and either bride or groom is under 18,

  • You can get married as soon as you have your marriage license.
  • You must wait 3 weeks after getting a marriage license.
  • You must wait 1 week after getting a marriage license.
  • You must wait 3 days to get married after getting the license.
Preview only

You are both 19 and your pastor marries you secretly after you get your marriage license. You both take your vows. The marriage is …

  • Legal, because you are both over 18.
  • Legal, because a pastor married you.
  • Not legal, because there were no witnesses to the ceremony.
  • Legal, because you had a marriage license.
Preview only

In Tennessee, child support …

  • Is ordered only if a parent wants the other parent to pay support.
  • Amounts are decided by the parents.
  • Can be deducted from a parent’s paycheck if they don’t pay.
  • Isn’t needed if there is a formal parenting plan and both help take care of the child.
Preview only

You owe child support, but you can’t pay it right now. You should …

  • Go to court and ask the judge to lower the amount you have to pay until you start earning more money.
  • Move to another state so money can’t be taken from your paycheck.
  • Call the child’s other parent and ask them to take a lower amount of child support until you are making more money.
  • Do your best to get caught up on your payments.
Preview only

A 19 year old female who has sex with her 17 year old boyfriend …

  • Is OK because she is over 18
  • Is OK because she is only two years older than her boyfriend and he is almost 18
  • Is OK if they plan to get married
  • Could be convicted of statutory rape and maybe have to register as a sex offender
Preview only

Date rape drugs …

  • Are illegal in every state, not just Tennessee
  • Can send a person to prison just for possessing a date rape drug, even if not used
  • Neither A nor B
  • Both A and B
Preview only

If parents decide to allow their baby to be adopted,

  • They can change their minds about it for a small tie after they sign the adoption paperwork.
  • They will never see their baby again.
  • They cannot put a name on the baby’s birth certificate because the adoptive parents will name the baby.
  • They will never know who adopted the baby.
Preview only
GET UNLIMITED ACCESS!
Create an Account


Already have a user account?

YOUR MEMBERSHIP GETS YOU...

When you become a member of our site, you will have full access to all of our courses and quizzes. Plus, you'll have access to any new courses and quizzes that we add during your membership. You will also be enrolled in our members-only newsletter where we share additional information exclusively for you. Sign up now and start educating your teens and young adults on how to stay out of legal trouble and have a brighter future.