Work & Paying Taxes

Understanding Your Pay: Lesson 1

Minimum Wage in Tennessee

  • Tennessee does not have its own minimum wage law, so Tennessee follows the U.S. federal minimum wage law.
  • Under federal law, you must be paid a minimum of $7.25 per hour for work, unless you receive tips.
  • If you earn tips at work, your employer must pay you at least $2.13 an hour (seriously), as long as you earn enough in tips to add up to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour.
    • If you don’t earn at least $5.12 an hour in tips, your employer must pay you the difference.
    • If your boss makes you put all your tips in a pool to split evenly with other tipped employees, the money can only be split among tipped employees. You do not have to share it with dishwashers, busboys/girls, or the employer.
GET UNLIMITED ACCESS!
Create an Account


Already have a user account?

YOUR MEMBERSHIP GETS YOU...

When you become a member of our site, you will have full access to all of our courses and quizzes. Plus, you'll have access to any new courses and quizzes that we add during your membership. You will also be enrolled in our members-only newsletter where we share additional information exclusively for you. Sign up now and start educating your teens and young adults on how to stay out of legal trouble and have a brighter future.